The 38th conference of the AGACL is an outgrowth of an informal meeting held in Austin, Texas, in the early spring of 1979. At that time, representatives from fifteen states discussed a variety of issues that were being raised by the defense bar in opposition to the imposition of the death penalty. The various states determined that further prosecution cooperation was urgently needed. In July 1979, a second, more formal meeting was again held in Austin, Texas. This meeting was sponsored by the Texas Attorney General with the assistance of the Florida Attorney General. At the conclusion of the second meeting, the states agreed to have an annual conference where government attorneys at all levels could receive professional instruction and share ideas.

Utah volunteered to host the first national conference. At the conclusion of the Salt Lake Conference in January 1980, it was unanimously agreed by the participants that a permanent association of government lawyers in this specialized field should be established independent of other national organizations to ensure continuity of the project. The name selected for the organization was the “Association of Government Attorneys in Capital Litigation.”

AGACL is now an active, full-time non-profit Association with a membership of over two hundred government agencies and officers. Membership dues are $100 per agency. If you are interested in becoming an active participant in this Association, please contact any member of the Executive Committee or write: Mr. Edward L. Marshall, Secretary-Treasurer, AGACL, 1108 Lavaca St., Suite 110–141, Austin, TX 78701, PHONE: 512-484-7022.



Executive Board

Kellie Johnson
Deputy County Attorney
Pima County Attorney’s Office
32 North Stone, Ste. 1400
Tucson, Arizona 85701
P: 520-740-5600

Bill Bilderback
Supervising Deputy Attorney General
California Attorney General’s Office
300 S. Spring St.
Los Angeles, CA 90013
P: 213-897-2049
F: 213-897-2806

Edward L. Marshall
Chief, Criminal Appeals Division
Texas Attorney General’s Office
P.O. Box 12548, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711
P: 512–936–1400
F: 512–320–8132


Directors at Large

Angela C. Backers 
Senior Deputy District Attorney
Chair of Capital Litigation Committee for CDAA
Alameda County District Attorney’s Office
2500 Fairmont Drive, Suite C3071
San Leandro, California  94578
P: 510–667–4476
F: 510–667–3146

Beth A. Burton
Deputy Attorney General
Georgia Attorney General’s Office
40 Capitol Square
Atlanta, GA 30334
P: 404-656-3499

Ward A. Campbell
Supervising Deputy Attorney General
California Department of Justice
1300 I Street, P.O. Box 944255
Sacramento, California 94244–2550
P: 916–324–5251
F: 916–322–2368

Ronald Eisenberg
Deputy District Attorney
3 South Penn Square
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19107
P: 215–686–5700
F: 215–686–5725

Lynn Hardaway
Chief, Postconviction Writs
Harris County District Attorney’s Office
1201 Fannin, Suite 600
Houston, Texas 77002-1901
P: 713-274-5990
F: 713-755-5809

Jennifer Miller
Chief, Criminal Appeals Division
Assistant Attorney General
Oklahoma Attorney General’s Office
2300 N. Lincoln, Rm. 112
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105
P: 405-521-3921

Stephen A. Schumaker
Deputy Attorney General for Law
30 East Broad Street, 17th Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215–3400
P: 614–728–1171
F: 866–655–1774

Carolyn M. Snurkowski
Associate Deputy Attorney General
Department of Legal Affairs
The Capitol
Tallahassee, Florida 32399–1050
P: 850–414–3300
F: 850–922–6674

Kelli L. Weaver
Deputy Chief, Criminal Appeals Division
Texas Attorney General’s Office
P.O. Box 12548, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711
P: 512–936–1400
F: 512–320–8132

Roe Wilson
Chief, Legal Affairs Bureau
Assistant District Attorney
Harris County District Attorney’s Office
1201 Franklin, Suite 600
Houston, Texas 77002-1901
P: 713-274-5990
F: 713-755-5809

Donald J. Zelenka
Assistant Deputy Attorney General
Chief, Capital Crimes Unit
P.O. Box 11549
Columbia, South Carolina 29211
P: 803–734–6305
F: 803–253–6283 or 803–734–4035

Directors at Large


Ashley Rich
District Attorney
205 Government Street, Suite C-701
Mobile, Alabama 36644
P: 251-574-8400

Stephen R. Creason
Chief Counsel, Appeals Division
Office of the Attorney General
State of Indiana
Indiana Government Center South, Fifth Floor
302 West Washington Street
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
P: 317-232-6222
F: 317-232-7979

Candace M. Mosley
Director of Programs
National District Attorneys Association
44 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 110
Alexandria, Virginia 22314
P: 703–549–9222
F: 703–836–3195