The 43rd conference of the AGACL is an outgrowth of an informal meeting held in Austin, Texas, in the early spring of 1979. At that time, representatives from fifteen states discussed a variety of issues that were being raised by the defense bar in opposition to the imposition of the death penalty. The various states determined that further prosecution cooperation was urgently needed. In July 1979, a second, more formal meeting was again held in Austin, Texas. This meeting was sponsored by the Texas Attorney General with the assistance of the Florida Attorney General. At the conclusion of the second meeting, the states agreed to have an annual conference where government attorneys at all levels could receive professional instruction and share ideas.

Utah volunteered to host the first national conference. At the conclusion of the Salt Lake Conference in January 1980, it was unanimously agreed by the participants that a permanent association of government lawyers in this specialized field should be established independent of other national organizations to ensure continuity of the project. The name selected for the organization was the “Association of Government Attorneys in Capital Litigation.”

AGACL is now an active, full-time non-profit Association with a membership of over two hundred government agencies and officers. Membership dues are $100 per agency. If you are interested in becoming an active participant in this Association, please contact any member of the Executive Committee or write: Bill Bilderback, Secretary-Treasurer, AGACL, 1108 Lavaca St., Suite 110–141, Austin, TX 78701, PHONE: 512-484-7022.

ASSOCIATION OF GOVERNMENT ATTORNEYS

IN CAPITAL LITIGATION
2022


Executive Board

President:

President
Edward L. Marshall
Chief, Criminal Appeals Division
Texas Attorney General’s Office
P.O. Box 12548, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711
P: 512–936–1400
F: 512–320–8132
edward.marshall@oag.texas.gov     

Vice-President
Sheila Ross
Director of Capital Litigation
Prosecuting Attorneys’ Council of Georgia
1590 Adamson Parkway, Fourth Floor
Morrow, Georgia 30260-1755
sross@pacga.org                                                     

Secretary-Treasurer
Bill Bilderback
Senior Assistant Attorney General
California Department of Justice
300 South Spring St.
Los Angeles, CA 90013
P: 213-269-6160
F: 213-897-2806
bill.bilderback@doj.ca.gov

Directors at Large

Dana Ali
Supervising Deputy Attorney General
California Department of Justice
300 South Spring St.
Los Angeles, CA 90013
dana.ali@doj.ca.gov

Angela C. Backers
(retired)Senior Deputy District Attorney
Alameda County (California) District Attorney’s Office
Somewhere, CA
warrior4justice@comcast.net

Brian Baker
First Assistant District Attorney
Brazos County (Texas) District Attorney’s Office
300 East 26th Street, Suite 310
Bryan, Texas 77803-5361
979-361-4320
bbaker@brazoscountytx.org

Beth A. Burton
Deputy Attorney General
Georgia Attorney General’s Office
40 Capitol Square
Atlanta, GA 30334
404-656-3499
bburton@law.ga.gov

Rick Hubbard
Solicitor, 11th Judicial Circuit
205 East Main Street, Ste. 309
Lexington, SC 29072
803-785-8252
rhubbard@lex-co.com

Ronald Eisenberg
Senior Appellate Counsel
Pennsylvania Attorney General’s Office
1600 Arch Street
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103
215-205-4074
reisenberg@attorneygeneral.gov

Directors at Large

EX OFFICIO PAST PRESIDENT

Jennifer Miller
Chief, Criminal Appeals Division
Oklahoma Attorney General’s Office
2300 N. Lincoln, Rm. 112
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105
405-521-3921
jennifer.miller@oag.ok.gov

Lisa Tanner
(retired) Criminal Prosecutions Division Chief
Texas Attorney General’s Office
Austin, Texas
512-507-8113
lisa.tanner.lawyer@gmail.com

EX OFFICIO MEMBER

Candace M. Mosley
Director of Programs
National District Attorneys Association
1400 Crystal Drive, Ste. 330
Alexandria, Virginia 22314
P: 703–549–9222
F: 703–836–3195
CMosley@ndaajustice.org